Focus Freedom of speech

World Science Day 2018

On 12 November 2018, UNESCO Bangkok, in partnership with the Asian Institute of Technology (AIT) and NSTDA, organized activities to mark the World Science Day for Peace and Development 2018. The spotlight was placed on plastic waste, one of the greatest global environmental challenges today.

The event was opened in the presence of Dr. Kanyawim Kirtikara, Vice Minister of Science and Technology, Mr. Shigeru Aoyagi, Director of UNESCO Bangkok, and Dr. Eden Y Woon, AIT President.

Four keynote lectures were delivered to the audience by speakers from China, Germany, India and Rwanda, presenting the problem of plastic waste and sharing some success stories on plastic waste management. The lectures were followed by poster exhibition.

Keynote speaker Henning Schwarze described plastic pollution as global warming’s companion. “Sustainability should be the new normal,” Henning said while highlighting the need to raise awareness and mobilize for a better future. Quoting examples from citizen sciences activities, he suggested the greater involvement of science, society, and young people in implementing meaningful change.

Some impressions from the World Science Day 2018 event in Bangkok

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fokus Meinungsfreiheit

World Science Day 2018

Am 12. November 2018 organisierte das UNESCO Büro in Bangkok, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Asian Institute of Technology (AIT) und der NSTDA, Aktivitäten, um den Weltwissenschaftstag für Frieden und Entwicklung 2018 zu feiern. Im Mittelpunkt stand das globale Problem des Plastikmülls, eines der größten Umweltprobleme unser Zeit.

Die Veranstaltung wurde in Anwesenheit von Dr. Kanyawim Kirtikara, Vize-Ministerin für Wissenschaft und Technologie, Shigeru Aoyagi, Direktor des UNESCO Bangkok Büros und Dr. Eden Y Woon, Präsident AIT, eröffnet.

Hauptredner aus China, Deutschland, Indien und Ruanda widmeten sich dem Problem des Plastikmülls und stellten Erfolgsgeschichten zur Bekämpfung des Problems vor. Die Vorträge wurden ergänzt um eine Posterausstellung.

Keynote-Sprecher Henning Schwarze bezeichnete das Problem des Plastikmülls als leidigen Partner der globalen Erwärmung. „Nachhaltigkeit sollte die neue Normalität sein“, forderte Henning in seinem Vortrag und betonte die Notwendigkeit, Bewusstsein zu schaffen und die Gesellschaft für eine bessere Zukunft zu mobilisieren. Er zeigte verschiedene Beispiele von Citizen-Sciences Aktivitäten und schlug vor, Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft und insbesondere die Jugend stärker in die Entwicklung sinnvoller Lösungsansätze einzubeziehen.

Einige Impressionen vom World Science Day 2018 Event in Bangkok

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.