Focus Freedom of speech

Multimedia-Feature Lake Tana

On behalf of the UNESCO Office in Addis Ababa (Ethiopia), the environmental media expert Henning Schwarze and the nature filmmaker Robin Jähne produced a multimedia feature about the Lake Tana Biosphere Reserve.

Spectacular aerial photography and interviews with local scientists and experts provide interesting information and insights into the lake and the surrounding area. For the production, the two media experts from OWL traveled twice the region in north-western Ethiopia.

The team (ltr): Jonas Schoo, Edwin Kumfa, Robin Jähne, Henning Schwarze and Maren Weber

Lake Tana, the largest lake in Ethiopia, which also marks the source of the Blue Nile, is rich in biodiversity of endemic plant, fish and bird species. The lake is surrounded by extensive wetlands, which serve as important wintering grounds for thousands of migratory birds. In the region of Lake Tana and around the cities of Bahir Dar and Gondar, there are numerous cultural and archaeological sites that make the region an important destination for national and international tourists. However, the lake also faces many challenges, including water pollution, soil erosion, population pressure and the resulting loss of biodiversity.

Henning Schwarze and his company INTEWO have been active on Lake Tana since 2004 and have already voted in 2005 for the designation as a biosphere reserve. In 2015, Lake Tana was finally officially recognized by UNESCO as a Biosphere Reserve.

The recently published multimedia feature aims to raise awareness of the fragile nature and promote sustainable development in the region. The project was supported by the German Embassy in Addis Ababa and by Ethiopian Airlines.

The 17 clips and 8 expert interviews are available online at laketana.intewo.tv.

Some impressions from the time at Lake Tana

Blog Fokus

Multimedia-Reportage Lake Tana

Im Auftrag des UNESCO-Büros in Addis Abeba (Athiopien) hat der Umweltmedienexperte Henning Schwarze gemeinsam mit dem Naturfilmer Robin Jähne eine Multimedia-Reportage über das Lake Tana Biosphärenreservat produziert.

Spektakuläre Luftaufnahmen und Interviews mit Wissenschaftlern und Experten vor Ort liefern interessante Informationen und Einblicke über den See und die Umgebung. Für die Produktion bereisten die beiden Medienexperten aus Ostwestfalen-Lippe zwei mal die Region im Nordwesten Äthiopiens.

Das Team (vlnr): Jonas Schoo, Edwin Kumfa, Robin Jähne, Henning Schwarze und Maren Weber

Der Tanasee, der größte See in Äthiopien, der zugleich auch die Quelle des Blauen Nil markiert, ist reich an einer Artenvielfalt aus endemischen Pflanzen-, Fisch- und Vogelarten. Der See ist von ausgedehnten Feuchtgebieten umgeben, die tausenden von Zugvögeln als wichtige Überwinterungsplätze dienen. In der Region des Tanasees und um die Städte Bahir Dar und Gondar gibt es zahlreiche kulturelle und archäologische Stätten, die die Region zu einer wichtigen Destination für nationale und internationale Touristen machen. Der See steht jedoch auch vor vielen Herausforderungen, darunter Wasserverschmutzung, Bodenerosion, Bevölkerungsdruck und der daraus resultierende Verlust an Biodiversität.

Henning Schwarze und sein Unternehmen INTEWO sind bereits seit 2004 am Tanasee aktiv und haben sich bereits 2005 für die Ausweisung als Biosphärenreservat ausgesprochen. Im Jahr 2015 wurde der Tanasee schliesslich offiziell von der UNESCO als Biosphärenreservat anerkannt.

Die nun veröffentlichte Multimedia-Reportage zielt darauf ab, Bewusstsein für die fragile Natur zu schaffen und eine nachhaltige Entwicklung in der Region zu fördern. Das Projekt wurde von der deutschen Botschaft in Addis Abeba und von Ethiopian Airlines unterstützt.

Die 17 Clips und 8 Experteninterviews sind online unter laketana.intewo.tv verfügbar.

Einige Bilder von der Zeit am Tana See